The British Olympic Association has announced the cycling members for Team GB for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games (8-24 Aug).

The athletes are:

Shanaze Reade (Women’s BMX)
Plus one male rider TBC

Mountain Bike
Oliver Beckingsale
Liam Killeen

Jonny Bellis (Men’s Road Race)
Steve Cummings (Men’s Road Race & Individual Time Trial)
Roger Hammond (Men’s Road Race)
Ben Swift (Men’s Road Race)
Nicole Cooke (Women’s Road Race)
Sharon Laws (Women’s Road Race)
Emma Pooley (Women’s Road Race)

Steven Burke (Team Pursuit)
Mark Cavendish (Madison)
Edward Clancy (Team Pursuit)
Ross Edgar (Team Sprint and Keirin)
Chris Hoy (Sprint, Team Sprint and Keirin)
Jason Kenny (Sprint and Team Sprint)
Paul Manning (Team Pursuit)
Chris Newton (Points Race)
Victoria Pendleton (Sprint)
Rebecca Romero (Pursuit and Points Race)
Jamie Staff (Team Sprint)
Geraint Thomas (Team Pursuit)
Bradley Wiggins (Individual Pursuit, Team Pursuit and Madison)
Wendy Houvenaghel (Women’s Individual Pursuit)

Glamorous Victoria Pendleton

Glamorous Victoria Pendleton

Victoria Pendleton was quoted as saying: “It’s an honour to be selected especially in such a strong squad,” Pendleton said. “I’m looking forward to going to Beijing and building on my form from the Worlds in Manchester earlier this year.”

I wish the entire team the best of luck for the event which starts in less than a month’s time. The race of truth has always been my favourite so an extra good luck to the guys and girls taking part in the pursuit and individual time trial.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s