Cadel needs to work on his image

Posted: July 30, 2008 in cycling, Road, tour de france
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For the sake of his sponsors. Seriously! The guy was a hot favourite to win this year’s Tour, even though he didn’t quite manage to pull it off. So a lot of media attention is paid on him, which I am sure all his sponsors love. However, his attitude towards the media isn’t all that great.

Take a look at what I mean.

If I was one of Evans’ sponsors, I don’t think I’d be all that happy with the what I’ve just seen. Now don’t get me wrong, I understand the guy is under huge pressure and all to win. But, making enemies with the media is not generally a smart move. Remember, sponsors pay riders and teams so their names make it into the press, whether it be print, internet, TV or even radio.

The more forcefully fans and TV crews are kept away, the more unruly their attempts to get close to Evans will become. However, taking a look back at footage from this year’s Tour, Evans’ rivals, appear to have cottoned onto the fact that, the more respectful they are towards the media, the more the media keeps a respectful distance from them.

So come on Evans, get working on your PR. You could definitely do with some brushing up in that department!

Comments
  1. Karen Reid says:

    Most people who are under extreme stress and pressure and with huge expectations and with the media in their face don’t respond well. As a nurse I have seen worse. I do agree that threatening to cut off someone’s head is wrong but the other two I fully understand (ie touching his painful Left shoulder, and the other he was suffering cramping and as someone who has suffered cramps on occasion you usually aren’t in the right frame of mind to deal with anyone els let alone the media the best way. I live by the theory 0 walk a mile in the other person’s shoes before you judge them or their behaviour. We don’t always know the full story. I thank him for introducing me to the sport of cycling as a viewer.

  2. Geoff Jones says:

    Great blog. Cycling is a great sport

Leave a Reply

