A bit suprised with Giro!

Posted: August 26, 2008 in cycling, Safety
Tags: , , , ,

Following my posting on the 11-year old school girl who’s head was run over by a car and survived to tell the tale, I decided to look for more safety stats into the use of helmets. So where to go to first, the helmet manufacturers of course. Yes I know their stats could be biased, but it would be a starting point nonetheless.

So, as I really like Giro helmets, I decided to approach them first. I searched around their website to see if they had any links to to safety stats. I didn’t find any. As a result, I decided to email the company and ask them for any public helmet safety stats.

A month after I sent my email, I received a reply from the company’s European team. Now I won’t mention the name of the person who responded, but this is what they had to say to my request:


Hi Craig,

Unfortunately I do not have any information available on this subject at this time. Sorry that I cannot help you. I know the debate of to wear or not to wear a helmet is a big one! But with the e-mails I receive from people who have had a near death expediencies as a result of crashes on their bikes I would recommend that everyone wear a helmet.

Sorry I cannot provide more information.

Thank you for taking the time to e-mail us here at Giro.

Kind regards,”

Mmmm –  interesting response to say the least…? Am still not sure how to respond to this. At the very least the company could have pointed me in the direction of where I could find some stats. Was and still am willing to do the searching for it.

But as helpful as they want to be, the sentence: “… with the e-mails I receive from people who have had a near death expediencies as a result of crashes on their bikes I would recommend that everyone wear a helmet” just doesn’t seem to convince me.

I think it’s time to ask my friend Google for some more help in my searches on this topic.


Comments
  1. […] wonder if I should send this onto the girl at Giro following the email she sent to me when I was looking for helmet safety […]

Leave a Reply

