Well, what a rubbish day I had today. A few weeks ago I put my half-day holiday form so I could go and watch the stage finish of the Tour of Britain (ToB) in Newbury today. So having prepped my camera and planned my enter and exit routes to the stage finish, I was ready to watch the riders make their way to the stage finish.

Now in my line of the work, the unexpected always occurs. I was hoping though that today would be a day that the unexpected didn’t want to make an appearance. Ever an optimist!

Boy, was I wrong! To cut a very long story short, my half day had to be cancelled and the closest I got to Newbury was through Google, my friend.

So, looking for the results, knowing the race would come to and end at around 14:15pm, the AFP posted their summary of the day’s events.

According to them the winner of the second stage was Australia’s Matthew Goss (CSC-Saxo Bank) who took the honours in a bunch sprint. Just behind him were Garmin-Chipotle team-mates Julian Dean and Chris Sutton.

There was also a crash within the last 3km’s of the stage when Martin Garrido came down. Fortunately for some, the race commissaire decided to give 86 riders the same time, claiming that Garrido’s crash affected virtually everyone in the race.

Alessandro Petacchi, who won the first stage in London, retained the overall leader’s yellow jersey after a sixth-place finish today.

Now, tomorrow I’ll be back into the swing of things and will hopefully get you some better and timely updates on the ToB. Until then…….

Leave a Reply

