The Great Britain cycling team have announced the long list of riders for the 2008 Road World Championships in Italy.

In the events GB will be allowed six riders in the Men’s Elite road race, seven including the Olympic champion (otherwise six) for the Women’s road race, five for the Under 23 road race and two each for the time trials.

The Elite riders for the road race are Mark Cavendish, Steve Cummings, Chris Froome, David Millar, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Rob Hayles, Russell Downing,  Daniel Lloyd and Dan Fleeman.

The Under 23 riders are Ben Swift, Peter Kennaugh, Alex Dowsett, Jonny Bellis, Jonny McEvoy, Andy Tennant, Russell Hampton and Mark McNally.

Cooke and Pooley are joined in the women’s team by Sharon Laws, Rachel Heal, Jessica Allen, Lizzie Armitstead and Catherine Hare.

In the time trial, the Elite Men are Steve Cummings, David Millar and Chris Froome; the Women are Emma Pooley, Sharon Laws and Nicole Cooke; and the Under 23s are Alex Dowsett and Russell Hampton.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s