I took Robert Hunter on

Posted: January 23, 2009 in cycling, Road, Track
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Track results showing mine and Robert Hunter's names

Track results from 1993

Last night I was sorting out my book of cycling achivements (my mother started this book when I started cycling competitively wherein she kept all my achievements.) About two years ago she gave the book to me during her visit to the UK as my family and I had relocated to the UK back in 2001.

So there I was sitting on the floor seperating out all the pictures, newsletters and newspaper clippings. Low and behold I found the one you see above. Boy – did one HUGE proud grin appear on my face. Back in 1993 on a Sunday afternoon (unfortunately my mother didn’t keep the exact date on which it took place), in my first year racing in the under-17 category, I was taking part in the weekly track cycling league event at Hector Norris Park (the highest cycling track in South Africa – 1704m above sea level). In the 3km event, I was racing against none other than Robert Hunter.  And I beat him 🙂

I know it sounds like I’m bragging. But who wouldn’t, especially when the guy you beat is South Africa’s best and a stage winner in the 2007 Tour de France. At the very least, I can say I had the opportunity to race against Robbie.

Hey! You never know – perhaps it was that particular race that he decided to concentrate on his sprinting…?

Leave a Reply

