Diablo from NeilPryde Bikes

Diablo from NeilPryde Bikes

A few posts ago you saw me in a video as part of an entry process to become a NeilPryde Epic Rider. A few days later I was lucky to be informed that I was selected to become a NeilPryde Epic Rider. I even have my own page on the company’s website.  For this, the company let’s me try out their bikes – the Diablo and the Alize – and provide my feedback on it, while at the same time telling you about it.

So the company goes out to to find a select few people who are passionate about cycling, give them each a bike, and let them spread the news about the company and its products. For a company breaking their way into the cycling market, I still feel this is a clever marketing tactic. No matter which way you look at it. Clever!

So, who or what is NeilPryde? Well, let me introduce NeilPryde to you – the condensed version:

  • The company was created in 1970, and by 1973 becomes the world’s largest sail provider;
  • By ’82 NeilPryde branded windsurf sails enter the market;
  • In ’83 a guy by the name of Fred Haywood, using NeilPryde sails, breaks the 30 knot speed barrier (55.5km/hr);
  • Then in ’89, the company launches the industry’s (wind surfing, of course) first fully integrated carbon Matrix Rig System;
  • Official supplier of sails at the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona;
  • 2007-2009 company carefully studies their consumer base to consider brand extension opportunity;
  • Extensive market research shows 60% of NeilPryde customers are also cyclists;
  • In 2009 bike division established – NeilPryde Bikes – headed up by Michael Pryde
  • Strategy for entering the cycling market starts to develop and division begins working with BMW Group Designworks USA

So, wanting to break out into a new area, the company decided to speak to its customer base. After carefully listening to what their windsurfing customers had to say, they found that cycling was a very popular sport amongst their fans. And so NeilPryde Bikes was born.

I’ve included a video the company created that talks about how the two bikes the company currently produces – the Diablo and the Alize – came about through the partnership they have with BMW Group Designworks USA.

Since becoming an Epic Rider, I received the Diablo in matt carbon complete with Shimano Ultegra and Mavic Kyserium wheels. I’ll include some pictures of the bike in a different post but for now I’ll let you see how the bike was introduced to the world:

A pretty awesome way to launch a bike aptly named the Diablo. Not sure I would ever do that myself, but I think it does the trick. Last week the company went on to release a behind the scenes video of the ‘Pyromaniac on Wheels’. This is it:

The question is, how good are these bikes? Well, only time will really tell. Not to mention a lot of road testing from myself and the other Epic Riders. However, this morning the company announced it received an iF Product Design Award 2011 in the Leisure + Lifestyle section for both the Alize and the Diablo. For over 50 years the iF Design Award has served as a recognised trademark for outstanding design all over the world. So the company is onto something good here.

And if Procycling UK is anything to go by, then the Diablo looks set to make a remarkable impact upon the market.  I, for one, am looking forward to it!

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by CraigBrophy, SweatnGears and SweatnGears, Scott Purchas. Scott Purchas said: RT @CraigBrophy: New blog post: NeilPryde Bikes – It all starts here! http://bit.ly/h0bdFq #cycling #procycling @neilprydebikes […]

  2. […] in late December, after receiving my Diablo from NeilPryde, I decided I needed to get out on the road and try the bike out and see what all the […]

  3. […] that mention … on My first Epic Ride on my NeilP…My first Epic Ride o… on NeilPryde Bikes – It all…sento on Team Lotto Honda – part… […]

  4. […] those who read my blog regularly will know that at the end of 2010 I became a NeilPryde Epic rider. What this meant was I could choose which NeilPryde bike to ride – Diablo or Alize – […]

  5. […] 20…Yamiya Yam on The official Tour de France 20…Review: NeilPryde Al… on NeilPryde Bikes – It all…Review: NeilPryde Al… on Diablo! A Baptism of Fire […]

  6. […] So in October 2010, off I went to Todays Cyclist and bought myself a new (well, actually a demo) Basso Astra (as you see it above). However, in November that year after entering a competition on Cyclingnews.com, I won for myself a brand new NeilPryde Diablo. […]

  7. […] So in October 2010, off I went to Todays Cyclist and bought myself a new (well, actually a demo) Basso Astra (as you see it above). However, in November that year after entering a competition on Cyclingnews.com, I won for myself a brand new NeilPryde Diablo. […]

Leave a Reply

