Taking on the Amsterdam 300 for Scope

Posted: April 29, 2011 in cycling, For a good cause, Road
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sitting on my trusty steed, my NeilPryde Diablo

Towards the end of last year, my friend from work, Graham told me about this ride he was thinking of doing – the Amsterdam 300. It’s a two day ride from London to Amsterdam covering 300 miles.

The website sells it as:

Pedalling 300 miles across 4 countries, in less than 2 days is no ordinary cycling challenge. An exhilarating night cycling stage from London to Dover is followed by a 100 mile daylight dash along the French coast and into Belgium where a riders camp awaits. Rested and refuelled, the peloton departs camp at dawn and crosses into Holland, where the tempo rises across the coastal lowlands for the final push to Amsterdam, arriving in time to celebrate in style and for some belated ‘Dutch courage’! This epic road cycle across Europe will raise funds for the UK’s leading disability charity, Scope.

If you don’t know, Scope is a charity that supports disabled people and their families at every stage of their life. They work with disabled people to achieve a vision of a world where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. So very worthwhile cause if you ask me!

So aftersome careful deliberation, today I decided to take the plunge and go for it. I’m still trying to get my head round it and what it will take to do, both mentally and physically, but am feeling quite excited about the prospect.

Now to take part in the ride, other than train really hard for it, I need to raise £1200 in sponsorship money. With that, I have set up for myself a Virgin Money Giving fundraising page to help with the collection of the sponsorship money.

So dear readers, if you are feeling kind and generous and would like to help a worthwhile cause, please feel free to donate by clicking here: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/CraigBrophy

Thanks in advance!

Craig

Comments
  1. […] I’ve really enjoyed using each one of these products from CNP Professional. Easy to follow instructions and it all tasted great, not forgetting the increase in my performance on the road as well. Ultimately that’s what you are after so I’ll definitely be stocking up on goods for the coming months in preparation for my ride to Amsterdam. […]

  2. […] miles and rides. The craziest of which is a ride I’ve just recently completed – the Amsterdam 300. I’ve written up a ride report which, as per my last report, is available to see online at […]

Leave a Reply

