Halfords Tour Series 2011 Champions Rapha Condor Sharp celebrating in Canary Wharf (photo credit: Tour Series/VeloUK)

Rapha Condor Sharp crowned Halfords Tour Series Champions

Jonny McEvoy and Motorpoint take final round honours at Canary Wharf

After their early round dominance wore off, Rapha Condor Sharp finally did enough to clinch their much sought after Halfords Tour Series title at Canary Wharf in the final round of the 2011 Series.

Having come third overall for each of the past two seasons of the unique team based Series, the men of John Herety’s team finally came good, to take a popular and hard fought victory.

Defending Halfords Tour Series Champions Motorpoint Pro Cycling went out with a bang, thanks to Jonny McEvoy soloing to victory in the world famous business and shopping district, leading his squad to the team win on the night, their first of 2011.

Behind Endura Racing came second on the night, to ensure the final deficit to Rapha Condor Sharp was just five points.

Lower down the standings CyclePremier.com – Metaltek used a final evening fifth place to overtake Team Raleigh in the standings for sixth overall, while Twenty3c Orbea leapfrogged the Pendragon Le Col Colnago team to come eighth.

The winning move on the night evolved from a strong five rider break, containing Dean Downing, Scott Thwaites, Wouter Sybrandy and eventual winner McEvoy that formed half way into a fast paced race.  Having lost out in the sprint from a small group in Woking, McEvoy attacked his breakaway companions with two laps to go, confirming that the race would not come down to the expected bunch sprint.

Approaching the line with two to go, McEvoy powered clear, and despite the efforts of Tour de France stage winner Backstedt, the other escapees couldn’t quite close the gap, which McEvoy slowly but surely extended.

Motorpoint's Jonny McEvoy wins at Canary Wharf (photo credit: Tour Series/VeloUK)

Over the final two tours of the one kilometre Canary Wharf circuit, McEvoy held off his four colleagues, crossing the line arms aloft ahead of Downing, Thwaites, Backstedt and Sybrandy.

From the bunch Paul Voss leapt clear on the run to the line to take sixth as Endura Racing sought to do everything they could in one last bid to overhaul Rapha Condor Sharp in the standings.

The German’s move helped Endura take second on the night, behind a rampant Motorpoint who placed McEvoy, Horton and Bialoblocki in the top ten for their first team win of 2011.  That win helped the reigning Champions secure third in the Series ahead of Sigma Sport – Specialized.

There was success for Sigma Sport – Specialized though, as Steve Lampier picked up enough points in the Boardman Bikes Sprint competition to finally overhaul long term leader Kristian House at the top of the standings.

Rapha Condor Sharp though take the honours and the plaudits, with Ed Clancy and Andy Tennant maintaining their incredible record of having won the Series in each of its three seasons – with Team Halfords Bikehut in 2009, Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta in 2010 and now the men in black in 2011.

In the curtain raising Canary Wharf Corporate Grand Prix, the team from Thomson Reuters took the win in the ProAm relay, helped on their way to victory by the CyclePremier.com – Metaltek team.  Thomson Reuters headed off the challenge of teams from among others Clifford Chance, Saxo Bank, BP and Canary Wharf Group.

Highlights of the final round of The Halfords Tour Series from Canary Wharf will be shown on ITV4 at 20.00 on Friday 17th June, with a repeat on Saturday 18th June at 09.40

Top-class professional cycling returns to central London in September with the final stage of The Tour of Britain, the UK’s biggest cycle race and the country’s largest free-to-spectate live sporting event.  The Tour reaches its climax on Whitehall on Sunday 18th September as part of a day of cycling festivities which includes The Prostate Cancer Charity Tour Ride London.

Round Eight, Canary Wharf, Results

Team Results

  1. Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  2. Endura Racing
  3. Rapha Condor Sharp
  4. Sigma Sport – Specialized
  5. CyclePremier.com – Metaltek
  6. Team UK Youth
  7. Twenty3c Orbea
  8. Team Raleigh
  9. Pendragon Le Col Colnago
  10. Wilier GoSelfDrive.com

Individual Results

  1. Jonny McEvoy                         Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  2. Dean Downing                          Rapha Condor Sharp
  3. Scott Thwaites                         Endura Racing
  4. Magnus Backstedt                    Team UK Youth
  5. Wouter Sybrandy                     Sigma Sport – Specialized
  6. Paul Voss                                Endura Racing
  7. Tobyn Horton                           Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  8. James McCallum                      Rapha Condor Sharp
  9. Ian Wilkinson                           Endura Racing
  10. Marcin Bialoblocki                   Motorpoint Pro Cycling

Boardman Bikes Sprints winner

  1. Jonny McEvoy                         Motorpoint Pro Cycling

Canary Wharf Corporate Grand Prix

  1. Thomson Reuters / CyclePremier.com – Metaltek
  2. Prestige Ticketing / Pendragon Le Col Colnago
  3. Canary Wharf Group / Team Raleigh

Final Team Standings, after Round Eight

  1. Rapha Condor Sharp                            75pts
  2. Endura Racing                                     70pts
  3. Motorpoint Pro Cycling                        56pts
  4. Sigma Sport – Specialized                    49pts
  5. Team UK Youth                                    41pts
  6. CyclePremier.com – Metaltek                38pts
  7. Team Raleigh                                       37pts
  8. Twenty3c Orbea                                   33pts
  9. Pendragon Le Col Colnago                  31pts
  10. Wilier GoSelfDrive.com                        10pts

Final Boardman Bikes Sprints standings, after Round Eight

  1. Steve Lampier              Sigma Sport – Specialized        32pts
  2. Kristian House             Rapha Condor Sharp                27pts
  3. Dean Downing              Rapha Condor Sharp                24pts

The race report on Round 7 can be found here. For more information from the Halfords Tour Series, visit: www.tourseries.co.uk And for more images from the racing, visit Velo UK.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s