NeilPryde Alize

For those who read my blog regularly will know that at the end of 2010 I became a NeilPryde Epic rider. What this meant was I could choose which NeilPryde bike to ride – Diablo or Alize – and then spend the next 12 months riding it, with the purpose of writing about it for the NeilPryde website. So for the past eight months I have been riding the Diablo and have loved every minute of it. An extremely stiff and aggressive bike that keeps wanting more from its rider.

At the start of last week, I took my Diablo in for a service at the local bike shop. Unfortunately I don’t have the specific tools required by Shimano to service its products, otherwise I would have completed the service myself. I had a ride on Sunday so six-days would be more than enough to get it serviced. Well, so I thought. Turns out they hadn’t even started on the service yet.

Not worrying too much about it as I have my Basso at home that I could ride, I let it be. So on Friday I was exchanging a few emails with Scott, the UK agent for NeilPryde, and we were talking about the weekend’s upcoming ride. I told him about the situation to which Scott then suggested I ride the Alize. Jumping at the chance to ride it we arranged to meet up the following day.

What I received was the NeilPryde Alize, size Large, in Blue White Carbon, with full Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 groupset, premium FSA SLK components, and Mavic Cosmic Carbone SL wheels. Finer details included JagWire cables and a Selle Italia SLR XP saddle. A great looking bike to say the least, especially when you see the tube profiles!

The following day I took the bike out on the Oxford Big Bike Ride with my friend Graham. It was a pretty flat route round the Oxfordshire area, with only one seriously steep but short climb on it. However, anyone living in the UK will have experienced the most awful of weather the past few weeks. And this weekend was no different. Thankfully it didn’t rain, but there was an abundance of strong wind. This made riding the 75 mile route extremely difficult. It felt as if we were riding into a headwind on the entire ride.

What made up for all that was the ride on the Alize. The size was perfect for me and it just felt right the moment I got onto it. I have to say, I loved every mile I rode on it. The Alize is strong and comfortable. Add this to its list of attributes, one being an aerodynamic bike and you have got youself a great bike. I believe the Mavic wheels played a small part when I say the ride was very smooth, even over some of the horrible roads we have over here. And when climbing up that steep short climb on the route, it performed well too. It’s not a Diablo on the climbs, but definitely a player. When it came to descending, the Alize came into its own once again. The time spent with BMW Designworks designing the aerodynamic shape of the bike really comes into effect and I found myself overtaking a lot of the riders on the ride that day. And it’s a solid ride while cornering too, giving you more confidence when hitting turns at speed.

I can’t fault this bike! So much so, I am sitting here wishing I still had it with me so I could take it out for another ride.  Whether you are looking for the perfect bike for sportives, a versatile road/time trial bike, or a good racing machine, the Alize is your answer! It’s the perfect all rounder!

Last but not least, NeilPryde now also offers buyers the ability to customise the colours of their Alize or Diablo with the Custom Colour Selector. In doing so you can design your very own, one-of-a-kind NeilPryde bike.   With the interactive web tool customers can create their own unique colour combination. I played around with the tool online and it is very easy to use: you can choose from a variety of available colours and you are immediately able to see how the bike will look.

The bike is individually custom painted and the cost will be only an additional £95 (US$150, € 110, AU$ 150, ¥ 12,500) extra. As this custom process takes some time, the company aims to have the bike delivered to you within 60-days. On top of this, the company will also send to you a set of personalised name stickers for free so that the frame can be personalised further.

About the bike:

FRAMESET

SIZE:         S, M, L, XL, XXL

FRAME:         NeilPryde Alize, High-mod monocoque

FORK:         NeilPryde Alize, Full Carbon monocoque

SEAT CLAMP:     NeilPryde Alize

SEAT POST:     NeilPryde Alize Aero SL

HEADSET:     FSA Orbit CF40, Integrated 1 1/8″ – 1 1/2″

GROUPSET

FRONT DERAILLEUR:    Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

REAR DERAILLEUR:     Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

FRONT AND REAR BRAKE:     Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

SHIFTER LEVER:         Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

CRANKSET:         Shimano Dura-Ace 7900, 53/39

BOTTOM BRACKET:     Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

CASSETTE:         Shimano Dura-Ace 7900, 12-25

CHAIN:             Shimano Dura-Ace 7900

WHEELSET

WHEELS:     Mavic Ksyrium SL

TYRES:         Hutchinson Atom Comp, 700x23c

COMPONENTS

STEM:         FSA SLK, 6 31.8mm

HANDLEBARS:     FSA SLK Compact, 31.8mm

SADDLE:     Selle Italia SLR XP

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

WEIGHT (Complete):         6.8 KG

HEAD TUBE STIFFNESS (FRAME):     90 Nm/

BB STIFFNESS (FRAME):         60 N/mm

So what would the Alize set you back I hear you asking? Well, as I rode it, minus the Cosmics but with Mavic’s 2011 Ksyrium SL wheelset, the Alize retails for £4099 (including VAT). Included in this price is free delivery and more importantly, a 10-year warranty and fantastic after-sales service.

But if you’re not convinced by what I say, Road Cc recently reviewed the bike and if you click here, you can read their review on the Alize.

Here are some pictures of the Alize in all its glory:

Alize headset and forks

Angular top tube

Side view of the headset and its aerodynamic lines

Rear section of the Alize. Notice how tight the back wheel is to the frame

Rear view of seat tube. Beautiful smooth lines.

It's a tight fit

The tubes blend smoothly into each other. Notice the NeilPryde logo

The aero seatpost

The front mech clamp

The stealth look

Inner cable routing on the bottom bracket

The rear mech on the two stays

Dura-Ace 7900 chainset

Sweet looking graphics on the front and on the inside of the front forks

The NeilPryde logo on the inside of the rear chainstay

Leave a Reply

