For Sale: 2011 Basso Astra with full Shimano Ultegra

Posted: February 10, 2012 in cycling, Road
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For sale: 2011 Basso Astra (Black/Blue)

After moving to the UK over a decade ago and getting back into the world of cycling I said to myself that I should get a Basso again. Why? Well, in my last three years of racing as a junior all I rode on was a Basso Astra with Columbus EL OS (oversize) tubing. I have many fond memories of racing and training on that bike. So I wanted to rekindle those memories with a new Basso.

So in October 2010, off I went to Todays Cyclist and bought myself a new (well, actually a demo) Basso Astra (as you see it above). However, in November that year after entering a competition on Cyclingnews.com, I won for myself a brand new NeilPryde Diablo.

Over the coming months the poor Basso just stood in my study and gathered dust as I was now riding the NeilPryde.  This was the main reason that last month I made the decision to sell the Basso. It was a hard decision for me to make, but it is something I had to do.

Now you have the chance to own this beautiful Italian racing machine! The total distance ridden on the bike comes to 300km’s. It did 200km while used as a demo bike for the 2011 range, and then I added 100km when the Diablo was in for a service at the bike shop. So it is mint condition and has been looked after.

The full specs for the bike (as it stands) are:

Make Basso
Model Astra
Size 53cm (seat tube, centre to top)
Colour Black / Blue
Frame Full carbon monocoque
Fork Full carbon fibre
Groupset Shimano Ultegra
Chainset Shimano Ultegra 6750 10-speed 172.5 compact
Chain KMC X10 Gold
Stem MicroTech Race Black Carbon Bonded 110mm
Handlebar MicroTech – Quantum Black – Carbon Monocoque 420mm
Headset MicroTech
Rims Mavic Ksyrium Elite
Hubs Mavic Ksyrium Elite
Seatpost Microtech Race Black Carbon Bonded
Saddle Fizik Arione white
Additional Comes with kevlar reinforced JagWire cabling
PRICE £2000 ono

If this interests you and you would like more information or have any questions, please give me a shout at:  sweatngears [at] gmail.com (remember to replace the [at] with @). Now for the crème de la crème, the pictures:

Basso Astra in Black/Blue

Shimano Ultegra chainset and derailleur with KMC X10 gold chain

Awesome from the front

The Basso frame badge and MicroTech bars and JagWire cables

Bottom bracket area

From the rear

Rear stays

Handmade in Italy

MicroTech Race Black carbon bonded stem

Internal cable routing on MicroTech carbon monocoque handlebars

The awesome stiff headtube

Smooth curves

Fizik Arione saddle on MicroTech Race Black carbon bonded seatpost

2011 Basso Astra

So if this beautiful bikes interests you and you would like to take it for a test ride, or have any questions, please give me a shout at:  sweatngears [at] gmail.com (remember to replace the [at] with @).

Craig

Comments
  1. J says:

    Dreaming of having a spare £2k – I’ll be in touch if the lottery numbers come up this week 🙂

  2. […] Comments J on For Sale: 2011 Basso Astra with full Shimano UltegraFor Sale: 2011 Basso Astra with full Shimano Ultegra « Sweat 'n Gears on NeilPryde Bikes […]

  3. Roy Weatherhead says:

    Great Bike Craig, I’am interested in a Basso, Not sure what size to get, i’am 6 ft, what bike size would i need,
    Kind Regards

    Roy

  4. Niels says:

    Such a shame that this beautiful Italian racer is equipped with shimano ultegra. It looks so much better with a Campa Chorus group..!

  5. Jim says:

    Hello is bike still for sale?…

  6. What’s up to every one, since I am truly keen of reading this web site’s post
    to be updated daily. It includes good material.

  7. Thanks for your publication on the travel industry.
    We would also like to include that if you are a senior thinking about traveling to Spain, its
    absolutely imperative that you buy travel insurance for seniors.
    When traveling to Spain, retirees are at high risk of getting a medical
    emergency. Obtaining right insurance policies package for one’s
    age group can protect your health and provide peace
    of mind. Please review our web site for great deals on cheap travel packages
    to Spain.

  8. Make Money says:

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come
    back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  9. Chassidy says:

    I do agree with all the ideas youu have introduced in your post.

    They’re very convincing and can definitely work.

    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for newbies.
    Culd you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  10. Hi there to every one, the contents present at this website are really remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the good
    work fellows.

  11. site says:

    Thanks for the recommendations shared using your blog.
    Another thing I would like to talk about is that skin improvement is not information on going on a dietary fads and trying to reduce as much weight as possible in a set period
    of time, it is about Getting rid of All Types Of Skin Infections Today By Clean Cure.

  12. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog
    posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this info So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve a very good
    uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I most definitely will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this web site and provides it a look regularly.

  13. Michael Carrington: We’re going to talk about the different
    package formats the impact of their parents or other decomposing organic matter or fine-grained sediment such as the Monza of
    southern Louisiana. That’s worth it all drains out and buy
    more oil powered cars to generate on the board.

  14. Companies and educational institutions around the globe erected firewalls and
    filters in their systems to block or filter access to websites such as Facebook, My – Space, You –
    Tube and many others. A way out may be to attune your device to
    every network ISP, but it is grossly implausible to achieve this manually.
    Not only Cloud hosting and cloud server hosting is more economical and beneficial, but
    it is more powerful and reliable compared to any existing
    IT framework.

  15. I feel this is one of the such a lot significant info for me.
    And i am happy reading your article. However want to remark on few basic things, The site style is perfect, the articles is in reality
    excellent : D. Excellent task, cheers

  16. I used to ƅe aɑble to find gooɗ information from youг blog
    posts.

  17. oral surgery says:

    Article writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with afterward
    you can write otherwise it is complicated to write.

  18. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

  19. credit card says:

    It’s in reality a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you
    simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us
    up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  20. Greetings, There’s no doubt that your site could be
    having browser compatibility problems. When I take a look at your blog in Safari,
    it looks fine however when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping
    issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, fantastic site!

  21. Jody Becena says:

    As soon as I noticed this web site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  22. Clara Krey says:

    Basic Programs For Antivirus Coupon Studied 2025

Leave a Reply

