Posts Tagged ‘riders’

CampagEven though I ride Shimano, I am a fan of Campag and have always dreamed of riding an Italian frame with a full Campagnolo groupset. One day!  But this year is the 80th Anniversary for Campagnolo and they have released a video in celebration of this. To celebrate those of us who cycle. The video is great (even though the voice over is slightly creepy).

Enjoy nonethless!

So I’ve been thinking of different items to place on my blog that would hopefully be of use to all those that visit this page. One thing that did come to mind was the twitter profiles of all the British professional cycling teams and riders. There isn’t a single source available where you could find this (well. not that I could find), so thought I’d give it a go.

The teams and their twitter profiles are:

CYCLEPREMIER.COM – METALTEK

TEAM @Cycle_Premier

Raphael Deinhart @GermanRacer

Ashley Finn @ash_finn

Simon Wilson @Si_Wilson

James Millard @JamesMillard

ENDURA RACING

TEAM @enduraracing

Rob Partridge @RobPartridge

David Lines @davidlines

Evan Oliphant @evantwats

James McCallum @Jimmy_mach10

Ross Creber @creber1

Scott Thwaites @Scott_Thwaites1

Gary Hand @Handinator

KUOTA – ROAD CC

TEAM @Kuota_RoadCC

Cherie Pridham @CHEZPRO

Jeroen Janssen @FlyingDutchJJ

Jon Mozley @Jon_Mozley

Jefte de Bruin @JeftedeBruin

Dan Davies @dan_davies86

Tom Martin @tommartin7

Martin Smith @Martyvelo

ORBEA – FOR GOODNESS SHAKES!

TEAM @Orbea_FGS

James Whatling @OrbeaJames

Daniel Kogan @dankogan

PENDRAGON COL COLNAGO

TEAM @PendragonSports

Yanto Barker @YBLECOL

Richard Tanguy @richtanguy

Chris Opie @SpeedyOpie

Rhys Lloyd @RhysLloyd

TEAM RALEIGH

TEAM @TeamRaleighUK

Liam Holohan @lh_holohan

Dan Fleeman @Danfleeman

Mike Cuming @mike_cuming

Peter Smith @petersmith35

Chris Truett @christruett

RAPHA CONDOR SHARP

TEAM @raphacondor

Kristian House @kristianhouse

Dean Downing @deanodown

Ben Greenwood @benjigreenwood

Matt Cronshaw @mattcronshaw

John Herety @RaphaJ

Andy Verrall @andyverbals

SIGMA-SPORT SPECIALIZED

TEAM @teamsigmasport

TEAM SKY

TEAM @TeamSky

Greg Henderson @greghenderson1

Russell Downing @russdowning

Chris Froome @chrisfroome

John Lee Augustyn @jlaugustyn

Simon Gerrans @simongerrans

Kurt Asle Arvesen @kaarvesen

Bradley Wiggins @bradwiggins

Kjell Carlstrom @kjellcarlstrom

Serge Pauwels @sergepauwels

Ben Swift @swiftybswift

These are the teams that I have so far. Obviously, when I get more, I will update this post with the additional info. I have also created a page dedicated to these teams and their online profiles. Make sure to bookmark it.

2009 Tour Series Winners - Team Halfords Bikehut (Image by Joolze Dymond - www.joolzedymond.com)

2009 Tour Series Winners - Team Halfords Bikehut (Image by Joolze Dymond - http://www.joolzedymond.com)

Where in the world can you find a cycling racing series that relies on the team rather than on an individual performance? Well, in non other than the UK of course! The team at SweetSpot Group, the team behind The Tour of Britain, decided to revive the old city centre cycle racing that used to be the rage in the UK about 15-20 years ago and created The Tour Series. And boy, the teams taking part did not disappoint!

Throughout the 10-round series, all ten British-based teams battled for overall glory and gave the spectators and TV audiences wanting more on every evening of racing.

The bunch sprint in Southend

The bunch sprint at the final round in Southend (Image by Joolze Dymond - http://www.joolzedymond.com)

With spectator and TV viewing numbers in the hundreds of thousands, it looks like The Tour Series is set to come back in 2010 on an even bigger scale.

So mark your diaries for May and June next year and remember to look out for the best cycle racing the UK has ever seen.

Want to know the results from all ten rounds – then click here.

As soon as I joined the team at SweetSpot, organisers of The Tour of Britain, I was introduced to a new series of racing that was soon to hit the UK – The Tour Series.

The Tour Series is a ten-round city centre cycling race series, which aims to bring unique gladiatorial and exciting professional team racing to UK city centres. Starting on the 21st May 2009, the 10 pro teams, each comprised of five cyclists will engage in combat against each other to become the overall champions of The Tour Series.

Now what makes this entire concept unique to the world of cycling is that on each night of racing, the teams will have to place their riders in the highest positions at the end of race in order to take overall honours. The race is not about the individual but rather about the team. So no point for riders to go on a solo breakaway or going for line honours, unless they know for a fact that their team mates will be the next best placed riders to cross the line.

So if you’re keen to check out the racing, it’s going to be televised on ITV4 the evening after each race. And thanks to ITV, viewers will be able to watch a whole hour’s worth of racing.

The dates for the race nights are:

21 May   – Milton Keynes

28 May   – Exeter

2 June    – Woking

4 June    – Peterborough

9 June    – Blackpool

11 June   – Southport

16 June   – Stoke-on-Trent

18 June   – Colchester

23 June   – Chester

25 June   – Southend-on-Sea

So if you’re out and about in these city’s on the day or night of racing, why not come along and check it all out. You won’t be sorry that you did.

I came across this story on Bloomberg.com yesterday and have to say it is a very interesting read. The article talks about the impact that doping has had on the sport and how this negative affect has reduced the salaries of Tour de France riders by as much as one-third since last year. Some riders will earn as little as 30,000 euros ($47,397) in 2008.

If you get a moment today, click on the link. Definitely worth the read. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on this. So drop me an email or leave a comment. Cheers.