Helmet that served its purpose

Posted: August 25, 2008 in cycling, Safety
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, took a good look at my helmet to assess the damage done to it following my crash.  Quite amazed to find where the cracks have appeared. At the very least, I’m pleased that it has done exactly what it was meant to do – protect my noggin in a crash.

Here are some pics of my helmet with the crash impact points and cracks in the frame.

My Pneumo

My Pneumo

Impact point

Impact point

First crack

First crack

Second crack

Second crack

Inner view of first crack at rear of helmet

Inner view of first crack at rear of helmet

Inner view of second crack at rear of helmet

Inner view of second crack at rear of helmet

Holding clip for roll cage ripped and unusable

Holding clip for roll cage ripped and unusable

Well, it’s served me well. Now to get it all packaged up and ready to send back to Giro. No need to throw it away. Am sure they can in some way benefit from receiving it.

Comments
  1. Peers says:

    fuck … i havent trained in a helmet in years .. including this morning

  2. Ben says:

    Give the Giro importers a call and explain what happened – they have a carash replacement policy, so you can get a new lid at cost. The old one gets sent off for testing, so they can make better helmets. I’ve used it twice over the years, one reason why I keep buying Giro.

  3. Craig says:

    @Ben – thanks for info Ben. Will definitely look them up and give them a call. And if it makes things easier on the pocket – all the better 🙂

  4. […] replevy the coward atop all fellow and the music roll … Saved by c0wb0yz on Sun 23-11-2008 Helmet that served its purpose Saved by joaoluc on Sun 23-11-2008 Purpose Saved by fingfangfoo on Sat 22-11-2008 Be “On […]

Leave a comment